Ubuntu Karmic Koala: Upgrading Jaunty Jackalope

Ubuntu karmic will be released on the 29th October 2009. I am doing heaps of preparation for my laptop:

1. Removing unnecessary software.

2. Backup my system using SBackup.

3. Create a bootable Jaunty Jacaklope disc in case things goes wrong.

After that is done, I decided to open the ‘Update Manager’ and upgraded my Ubuntu Jaunty Jackalope to Ubuntu Karmic Koala. Things did not go as smooth as I expected. When I reboot my system, Ubuntu told me that it can not load my Linux directory and switch my Linux directory to read only. The error message goes something like:

'Gave up waiting for root device. Common Problems:
- boot args (cat /proc/cmdline)- Check root delays (Did the system wait long enough ?)

- Check root : (did the system wait for the right device?)

- missing modules ( cat /proc/module; /ls/dev)

- Alert /dev/disk/by-uuid=[XXX] does not exist. Dropping to a shell.

A work around for this problem is to load your Linux drive by its absolute path, not by its UUID. So I boot Ubuntu from my bootable Jaunty Jackalope disc. Edit the Grub boot menu file /boot/grub/menu.lst.

I replaced the UUID with my linux drive full path.

title        Ubuntu 9.10, kernel 2.6.31-14-generic
root        (hd0,2)
kernel     /boot/vmlinuz-2.6.31-14-generic root=<span style="color: #ff0000;"><strong><em>/dev/sda3</em></strong></span>
initrd       /boot/initrd.img-2.6.31-14-generic
quiet

I rebooted my system and just like that I am able to open my Ubuntu Desktop. Karmic Koala is suppose to come with Grub2. But somehow Grub2 was never installed when I upgraded my Jaunty Jackalope. So the first thing that I do is to install Grub 2.

I am still trying to find out why Karmic Koala could not load my Linux drive, and why did my upgrade did not install Grub 2. But for now things are working, and I am really excited to explore some of the neat new feature of Karmic Koala.

Related Article:

1.What is UUID ? | Unix Tutorial

2. How to burn Ubuntu ISO image to a CD/DVD.

3. Ubuntu Community Documentation on Upgrading Ubuntu

4. Creating a bootable disc for Ubuntu

Share

About zainul franciscus

Hi, I am a software developer and tech blogger who is currently living in Wellington, New Zealand. I write stuff that I find interesting on
This entry was posted in Ubuntu and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Ubuntu Karmic Koala: Upgrading Jaunty Jackalope

  1. Marty says:

    Umm… the reason that your upgrade install did not automatically install GRUB 2 was because it was an upgrade install.

Leave a Reply

