Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx – Reinstalling ALSA

I shared with everyone the problem I am having with ALSA in my previous blog post. Stéphane Gaudreault wrote a good instruction on how to re-install ALSA.

The only difference that I during the re-installation process is that I stopped ALSA using this command:

sudo /lib/udev/alsa-utils stop

I have been playing videos with VLC, XINE, and my mp3 with Rhytmbox and everything seem to be very stable. Thank you Stéphane for sharing with us how to reinstall ALSA.

About zainul franciscus

Hi, I am a software developer and tech blogger who is currently living in Wellington, New Zealand. I write stuff that I find interesting on
This entry was posted in Ubuntu and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx – Reinstalling ALSA

  1. Dan Chen says:

    Please note that “alsa-utils stop” doesn’t *stop ALSA*; it only stores the existing mixer state for loaded cards. There is no real equivalent, initscript-wise, of unloading the driver modules (for that you want /sbin/alsa force-unload).

  2. Hey Dan,

    Thank you for comment. It is very helpful.

    Cheers

  3. Gustaff says:

    Hallo Zainul,
    Thank you very much for the tutorial. I followed your step and successful in updating alsa in my laptop. However my headphone is still doesn’t work and I’ve tried to look for any possible solution from several lists and irc chat room. I’ve check the alsamixer via terminal and it seems everything is fine. Up until now I am still struggling to solve the problem.

    I am still a new comers in Linux environment and at the moment I am using Ubuntu 10.04 LTS with Lenovo g460. Do I need other modules to make it work? I hope you can help me out, and of course anyone who visit this blog. Here are some detailed info for the audio devices:

    Audio device: Intel Corporation 5 Series/3400 Series Chipset High Definition Audio (rev 05)
    Audio device: nVidia Corporation High Definition Audio Controller (rev a1)

    Anyway, I am really enjoy to learn some stuff from your blog. Great job!

    All the best,
    - Gustaff

Leave a Reply

