Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx – Gasp What’s Wrong With ALSA ?

I have been having 100% CPU usage problem that hogs my Ubuntu box ever since I was using Karmic. I scan my Ubuntu box for bad hard disk sector using:

sudo badblocks /dev/hda

Luckily and I am still thankful for this that I do not have bad sectors in my Ubuntu Box. I found the following entry in my message log. Go to your System > Administration > Log File Viewer and check the messages.


I found this message in my message log:

May  3 05:17:05 sleeper-laptop pulseaudio[1763]: alsa-util.c: snd_pcm_delay() returned a value that is exceptionally large: -12123948 bytes (-68729 ms).
May  3 05:17:05 sleeper-laptop pulseaudio[1763]: alsa-util.c: Most likely this is a bug in the ALSA driver 'snd_hda_intel'. Please report this issue to the ALSA developers.


I have been tracking down this problem on the net and it seems that the problem is affecting people who are using snd_hda_intel driver. This problem usually happen after we play an audio for 20 to 30 minutes. This problem has been logged in Launchpad and ALSA’s bug tracking system.

Jared Wiltshire from launchpad suggested that we can build the latest ALSA driver from ALSA Project with:

./configure --with-cards=hda-intel
make
sudo make install-modules

I’ll keep everyone posted on the result once tried it on my Lucid Box.

About zainul franciscus

Hi, I am a software developer and tech blogger who is currently living in Wellington, New Zealand. I write stuff that I find interesting on
This entry was posted in Ubuntu and tagged . Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx – Gasp What’s Wrong With ALSA ?

  1. Mr. X says:

    Sounds more like a pulseaudio(MUST KILL!) problem.

  2. Pingback: Links 6/5/2010: PCLinuxOS 2010.1, KDE SC 4.4.3 Released | Techrights

  3. Pingback: Ubuntu 10.04 Lucid Lynx – Reinstalling ALSA | Curly Braces

  4. Dan Chen says:

    Please attach your alsa-info.sh output somewhere so we can add the necessary LPIB quirk to the driver.

    Mr. X, not a pulseaudio issue but a driver issue.

  5. Hey Dan,

    Will Do. Thanks for the help.

    Looking for the output shortly.

Leave a Reply

